Written by Lori Thiessen

I don’t know about you but acronyms are the bane of my existence. The tech world and web world, in particular, are bad for this penchant toward letters instead of words. It’s a rather elitist and exclusionary tactic, in my view, though I know the general claim is that acronyms save time. And if you Twitter regularly, it saves symbol space.

So I’ve compiled a list of acronyms that I had to figure out. I hope some of you might find this helpful.

VPN – Virtual Private Network. It is a way to secure your connection (and information) over the internet by encryption at the lower levels protocols.

RTFM – Read the F****ng Manual. An unhelpful remark by a tech guru when you have a tech question.  Often, the manual is  no help because it is poorly written.

There are now variations on this theme:

UTSL – Use the Source, Luke.

STFW – Search the F****ng Web

Continuing on with some other acronyms that had my noggin muscle aching.

J.A.C.K – Just Another Contract Killer. Could be an anonymous signature or an opinion of someone.

FWIW – For What Its Worth. A prefatory phrase when one offers one’s opinion or advice.

IMHO – In My Humble Opinion. See definition of FWIW

IMNSHO – In My Not So Humble Opinion. See definition of FWIW.

For help with solving the  millions and millions of  puzzling acronyms out there, try Acronym Geek.com.

TFDBAISYSUNT! (Thanks for dropping by and I’ll save your seat until next time!) Tee Hee!

