Written by Lori Thiessen

I was at a wonderful all-day seminar entitled “Protect, Plan and Prosper in 2009” yesterday at Small Business BC.  There was some very useful information about protecting your intellectual property, protecting your online presence, and planning for your business.

All the speakers were really good but I thought the final speaker, Fiona Walsh, was the best one. She talked about the importance of marketing especially in this slower economic climate.

One critical piece of marketing is remembering to bring your business cards to networking events.

In the post entitled “The Basic Cafe Commuter Kit”, I wrote that part of your kit should be your business cards.

Ms. Walsh came to me and asked me for my business card. I hunted and hunted in my cavernous bag for the elusive card. Nothing.  Finally, I remembered I kept one in the luggage tag attached to my laptop bag/purse.

It was a bit scruffy looking and I apologized to Ms. Walsh for its appearance.  She was very gracious about it and accepted this weather-worn, battered looking thing.

The upshot is: I need to take my own advice. I need to have a supply of business cards, pristine, shiny, professional-looking cards on hand at all times.

Networking possibilities can happen anytime, anywhere.

Q: What does a person’s business card (not just the words, but the colour, design, production values) tell you about him/her? Do you often judge a person’s competence based on a) whether or not they have a card, b) what the card looks like?

Thanks for dropping by and I’ll save your seat until next time!

