Written by Lori Thiessen

Remember when you would go to summer camp and there would be a list of things to bring with you? The same idea occurred to me when I think about my life as a café commuter.

I have been accused on many occasions for over packing and I stand guilty as charged. However, I do think there is something to be said for being well-prepared for all of life’s little eventualities.

Here’s the basic list that I’ve concocted.

  • Laptop bag
  • Laptop and battery
  • Extension cord (very handy for reaching those out of the way outlets)
  • Cell phone or equivalent (be sure to use it with courtesy for others around you)
  • Business cards or personal cards (networking, networking, networking)
  • Pen and paper (when puzzling things out, I like old-fashioned pen and paper)
  • Means of paying for coffee etc
  • Coins for tipping the barista
  • Any additional files
  • USB key
  • Soapless hand cleanser or handiwipes (before you eat that muffin with your hands that have been, god knows where)
  • Travel mug (save the environment and maybe some money)
  • Your manners

For me, the last item is the most important. I’m happy to report that manners do seem to be on the rise but keep practicing them.

The only other item that I might wish to add is a small stationery kit of paper clips, a stapler, and some cello-tape, post-it notes, and extra pens/pencils. But I’m a stationery freak so most people will ignore this.

Keeping your laptop bag in readiness for setting up your café commuter camp will help you stay focused and organized.

Q: What do you carry with you when you work out of a café? What would you add or subtract from the list above?

Thanks for dropping by and I’ll save your seat until next time!

