Written by Lori Thiessen

My friends and former colleagues, Brent Sedo and his wife DeNel were lucky enough to spend last winter in Mexico. When I put the call out to my friends and relations for survey participants, Brent responded by sending some great photos of the coffee shop he worked out of in Mexico. I just love the one with the chickens. What a hoot, or cackle should I say!

Being a professional writer and editor for many years, Brent’s work is rather portable so wintering in Mexico didn’t require him to lose time (or money!) by being away from the office. Two of his main gigs are as Editor of the Sports and History sections of Suite101 http://suite101.com, a well-known and well-respected online magazine. Check out his work. Brent and I both worked on a print magazine many years ago called REALM which alas, is no longer in print.

DeNel ‘s rightful title is Dr. DeNel Rehberg Sedo. She is a Professor of Communications at Mount Saint Vincent University in Halifax, and she is passionate about books and reading. The Beyond the Book Project http://beyondthebookproject.org ,of which DeNel is the North American Director, is all about reading and reading communities. I was fortunate enough to be the site assistant when the research team landed in Vancouver. It was a wonderful experience.

As Brent and DeNel’s Mexican sojourn proves, your local coffee shop (wherever your locale happens to be) can be a dandy and entertaining place to work from.

Thanks again to Brent and DeNel for their support of this project!

I’d love to hear from others who have worked out of coffee shops perhaps far a-field.

Thanks for dropping by and I’ll save your seat until next time!

Photo by Brent Sedo

Photo by Brent Sedo

Photo by Brent Sedo

Photo by Brent Sedo

