Written by Lori Thiessen

Besides having control over your schedule, ditching your business wardrobe is the other much-touted benefit of being a café commuter. Fling that business suit aside, kick off those uncomfortable shoes, and embrace the raggedy housecoat.

No.

That’s right, I said no. While the theory of endless pajama days may seem appealing, I would suggest that not dressing properly for the day can have a very negative effect on a person’s psyche and productivity. I’m not opposed to the odd pajama day so long as it is a duvet day as well. Appropriate dressing for all situations is critical in my view.

You may be tempted, as I have been, to drag on a pair of worn-out jogging pants in disgraceful condition and top it with an ancient t-shirt replete with stains of now unknown origins to run a quick errand at a local shop. I’m only going to be out for a moment, I argued with myself. I won’t meet anybody I know. And that’s exactly the time when I do meet someone I know, looking like something the cat dragged in.

I think if you are going to a café to work, you may want to consider dressing yourself as if you were going to a regular office. Remember you’ve chosen to work out of a café instead of at home. Working at a café or coffee shop means that there is always the chance to meet with a potential client or be referred by a fellow café commuter to someone they know. The opportunity to make friends and influence people decreases dramatically if you look like (and possibly smell like) something that’s been left out over night.

Some of you may be scoffing at this suggestion but the urge to dress down, way down, is almost irresistible when you are a café commuter. Don’t give into it! Every day you choose to work, dress the part. I’m not saying get out the blue business suit but business casual never fails.

I’ve taken this advice to heart myself and I make sure that I’m properly dressed, ready to face the world and its many challenges every day I do work. I find I’m more productive on those days and I feel much more positive about myself.

So go ahead, dress to impress even if the only person you want to impress is yourself.

Q: What do you consider to be business casual dressing for the café commuter?

Thanks for stopping by and I’ll save your seat until next time!

